skip to main content






AquaSafe is a series of awards best introduced at Year 4 or 5. They may also be undertaken by older children however. All are designed to be undertaken sequentially allowing a child to reinforce skills learnt. Each has both practical and theoretical aspects.

Beginning with the levels to encourage non confident swimmers into building confidence in their aquatic survival ability and to ensure they could be able to assist other children or an older person in helping a person in difficulty.

No swimming caps and/or goggles may be worn at any time.

Water Discovery:

Water Discovery:

To familiarise the beginner with water by the introduction of confidence, safety and survival activities.

Water Awareness:

To increase awareness of the water by means of activities which develop water confidence, water safety and survival abilities.

Water Sense:

To further develop the learner’s water sense by means of water safety, survival and swimming activities.

Water Wise:

To reinforce the understanding and to extend personal swimming and survival abilities.

Note: This work must be taken in water deep enough for the appropriate actions.

The Water Discovery Strand has a certificate with the 4 levels that a teacher may sign off as each is achieved.

Water Smart:

Introduces water safety knowledge and skills.

Rookie Survivor:

Provides the learner with safety and survival skills including basic techniques of clothed survival swimming, and to extend the range of swimming skills and personal fitness for survival.

Super Survivor:

Further develops swimming skills, knowledge of safety, personal survival skills and endurance.

Ultra Survivor

Aims to encourage a high level of swimming skills, endurance, personal survival skills, group strategies and knowledge of safety.

The Survivor series has a certificate for each of the three levels.


Dry Rescue

Introduces land based water rescue techniques and assesses learner’s initiative.

Wade Rescue

Introduces skills and knowledge of non contact rescues in shallow water and concept of resuscitation.

Accompanied Rescue

Develops skills and knowledge of non contact rescue and survival in deep water and the practice of resuscitation.

The Rescue series has a certificate for each of the three levels.

Bronze Strand

Currency of awards:

The currency period for awards is twelve months. Studies of skill and knowledge retention of trained people have shown that performance declines significantly if regular practice is not undertaken.

Portions of each of these awards are Instructor assessed and portions require to be undertaken with an Examiner.

Bronze Star:

This is a secondary school student award.

Holders of this award are not trained or qualified to attempt any form of contact rescue involving conscious persons in deep water.


To develop skills and knowledge of safe water rescue and survival.


Bronze star


Bronze Medallion:

Holders of this award are recognised as having gained a minimum standard as a qualified lifesaver.


To develop the level of knowledge, judgement, technique and physical ability required to carry out safe water rescues.

Minimum Age:

14 years or year in which the candidate turns 14.


It is advantageous if candidates hold the Bronze Star Award.


Bronze medallion

Bronze Cross:


To further develop the level of judgement, technique and physical ability required to carry out water rescues.


Bronze Medallion.


Bronze Cross

Advanced Lifesaving Strand

Portions of each of these awards are Instructor assessed and portions require to be undertaken with an Examiner.

Award of Merit:


To develop advanced rescue and judgement skills. The candidate must perform with skill, sensitivity and understanding.

Minimum Age:

15 years or year in which the candidate turns 15.


Bronze Cross Award.


Award of Merit



To provide an opportunity for continuous striving for excellence and maturity of response to emergency situations.


The candidate must achieve a high level of rescue knowledge and skill. Each test item must be performed with distinction.

Minimal Age:

16 years or year in which the candidate turns 16.


Award of Merit.



The Diploma of the Society

The Diploma is the highest award presented by the Society and, as such, should reflect the standards, aims and objectives of the Society.

The Society prides itself on the work that is done in the community in the area of water safety education. In dealing with the safety of human beings, the greatest care must be taken and the highest standards maintained.

These standards should be reflected in all that the Society’s members and associates do. This includes awards at all levels, lectures, examinations, meetings and other activities involving the public.

All candidates should be familiar with the aims and objectives of the Society and demonstrate support for them in every manner possible.

Diploma candidates are expressing an extreme interest in the Society and, as such, are clearly demonstrating support for its values and standards.

The work of the candidate should clearly be of the highest standard possible and contribute to the development of the Society and be of value to the community.

Those who achieve Diploma status should be proud of the effort and of the Society. They should represent the Society in a professional manner at all times and promote the Society’s aims and objectives throughout the Commonwealth.

Completion of the Diploma Award is no easy task. It requires a dedication not necessary for any other Society award and candidates should appreciate the need for self¬discipline in order to complete the task.

New Zealand Resuscitation Council

New ANZCOR resuscitation guidelines and algorithms, including CPR standards and guidelines, are freely available from the NZRC website.


+ Text Size -